• Home
  • The department
  • History of Department

History of Department

The Department of Geology at the University of Patras is internationally recognised for the quality and breadth of its research and its academic programme. It is dedicated to provide the highest quality teaching in classroom and field training, as well as research opportunities in Earth Sciences for students at all levels.

The Department, one of the three Geology Departments in Greece, was founded in 1977 in the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Patras, replacing the pre-existing Chair of Geology. Undergraduate students were first admitted in 1978. Since the first 65 undergraduate students’ admission in 1978, 976 BSc, 156 MSc and 112 Ph.D. degrees were granted up to January 31, 2012.

The Department embraces an impressive variety of topics in Earth Sciences and is strongly linked to Greece’s unique geology. Presently, there are twenty three (23) full-time faculty members ranging from lecturer to professor. Support personnel consist of four research associates, a number of instructors and members of administrative and technical staff.

Current enrollment is 846 undergraduate and 150 postgraduate students.

The laboratories for research and teaching, the library, the computing center and the lecture rooms of the Department are housed in the Geology Building. The Seismological Laboratory is hosted at a separate building in the old sector of the University Campus.

Tags: Department